where to go, what to do? – march madness

I realize not all women are into sports, but as a girl who grew up playing basketball and is still a tomboy at heart I just had to do a post related to the impending March Madness. As I’ve become older, I don’t tend to follow college basketball the entire season but there’s something about March Madness that drags me in every year. I don’t know if it’s the numerous brackets floating through my email or the competiveness that lies beneath. Last year, I found myself in Denver during the Women’s Final Four and it brought me back to my high school days and actually got me “pumped up” for work. Since I was there for work, and on the last week of a third-week tradeshow stretch, I didn’t partake in too many of the activities but I did find time to sit in on the open practice session and actually received a roaring cheer from the Baylor crowdJ. Full disclosure – they were staying in my hotel and the only way out was through the front entrance and through a tunnel of awaiting and enthusiastic Baylor fans. Needless to say, they were disappointed when they realized I was a 5’6” tradeshow manager just heading to the convention center for work.

Oh well, enough about me, this year’s Final Four tourneys are in two awesome cities – ATL for the men and New Orleans for the women. If you find yourself heading to a Final Four either voluntarily or against your will, or will be in either city anytime soon here are few things to check out.

Do you enjoy March Madness or does your significant other just drive you Mad in March?

Atlanta Skyline

Atlanta

  1. Georgia Aquarium
  2. World of Coca-Cola
  3. Inside CNN Tour
  4. Check out one of the many festivals happening in the city –the Dogwood Festival, Renaissance Faire, and Atlanta Film Festival.
  5. In the mood to shop? Check out these neighborhoods and places.
    • Little Five Points – think southern “hipsters”– Vintage and coffee shops abound. I plan to check out this screen print shop next time I’m in ATL.
    • Buckhead – if you’re in the mood for Louis, Louboutin or Lanvin, then “head” to Buckhead. From shopping plazas like Phipps Plaza & Lenox Square mall to boutiques like Jeffrey ATL and Raw Denim, there are plenty of options that will surely have your credit card gasping for air. But don’t fret; they have affordable shopping in the area as well.
    • Decatur – Apparently “Decatur has the nicest seven-block walking area in Atlanta”. The area houses an eclectic mix of stores from shoes to music shops to global gifts. Dress Codes, Mingei World Arts and Squash Blossom look like a few cool places to check out. As Squash Blossom’s site proclaims – “Think globally, shop locally.”

new orleans

New Orleans

  1. Of course, check out Bourbon Street – there’s more to it than just all-night partying
  2. Partake in a traditional New Orleans Sunday Brunch
  3. Check out a festival – the French Quarter Festival is coming up in April
  4. How about lending a hand? Become a New Orleans voluntourist !
  5. Want to venture off the beaten path? Check out one of these ideas. Urban Kayaking & visiting the first licensed apothecary shop sound interesting to me. 
Leave a Reply

