where to go, what to do?! ~ cherry blossom festival

Blossoms-at-Jefferson

As I hail from the DMV area (that’s DC-Maryland-Virginia for those not from the area)  I feel reminisced that I didn’t do a post sooner about this festival. It’s been MANY, MANY years since I’ve been to the Cherry Blossom Festival, but it’s a spectacular site to see. I’m actually making a trip back home for work (and a little personal time) this week ~ I’ll see if I can squeeze this into my schedule!

According to the official site, this year’s peak bloom  is scheduled to happen April 6 through 8, but if you’re not able to see the peak, rest assured they have plenty for you to do. Here are 5 things I recommend:

Walk around the tidal basin vs taking a tour: yes, it will be crowded but you’ll be able to experience the tidal basin, the trees and the scenery up close and personal!

Send a Cherry Blossom greetings postcard to troops: I’m all about writing a kind note, especially to those who put their life on the line! You can pick up one of the greeting cards at the Festival HQ at Union Station, the Festival Information Tent at the Tidal Basin, the Parade, and other festival events.

Get cultured: check out one of the  “Celebrate the Arts of Japan” exhibitions at the Freer and Sackler Galleries.

Eat, Eat, Eat: they have a food tour you can participate in and also a Cherry Picks Restaurant Program. Out of the ones listed in the program, I personally would go to Georgia Brown’s for good, upscale southern food; Policy Restaurant for the  “speakeasy” type of drinks (personally love The Beekeeper) and sharable plates; Old Ebbit Grill for great American bar food and it’s simply a DC staple; 1789  because  I’ve heard great things about this restaurant and it’s also in one of my favorite DC neighborhoods ; and Tony and Joe’s to grab a drink and some seafood (Maryland crab cakes are simply the best), but especially for it’s prime location – the Georgetown waterfront!

Learn how to take pictures: this Photo Safari looks interesting, especially if you A ~ love photography, but are not a professional and B ~ if you’re a new blogger (like myself) and want to pick up tips on how to use your camera (even if it’s not a fancy, professional one) to take good pictures of a variety of subjects. This is truly a reference to me as I’ve been using my Sony Cybershot and my iPhone for picture taking!

If you can’t make it to the festival this year, no worries it’ll be back in 2014 and beyond! Has anyone visited the festival this year, or making plans to go before it ends April 14?

Travel tip ~ I’ve been reading a lot of travel articles, and April appears to be the best time to find good hotel and flight deals. Depending on when Easter falls, Spring Break may take place during the first week of the month, other than that it’s not a heavy tourist time in most U.S., European or South American major cities. I presume it’s because April can be a finicky month. Both hemispheres are in a transition period weather/season wise ~ in the Northern Hemisphere, we’re still thawing out from winter and the month typically holds up to its nickname “April Showers” and in the Southern Hemisphere they’re headed into their fall/autumn season and nighttime starts to creep up earlier and earlier into the day.

 

Leave a Reply

