packed and ready to go! ~ work/home balance

DSC00675

I’m headed back to VA for a work event; however, there’s NO way my family would let me slip in and out of town without A – staying with them and B – spending extra time with them. So, I’m extending my stay to see my family, catch up with some friends I haven’t seen in a LONG time, and maybe even catch the Cherry Blossom festival if it fits into the schedule.

I’ll be gone for 5 full days and the key is all about packing versatile pieces that can be dressed up for work and play or dressed down for a casual look. While I’m super excited that the weather is FINALLY breaking, I’m not soo excited for my seasonal allergies. Any who, as is the purpose of this series, take a look at what I’m packing and maybe it will give  you an idea for your next “work/home balance” trip.

Here’s what I’m packing: 4 shirts, 1 dress, 1 blazer, 1 cardigan, 2 pairs of pants and 3 pairs of shoes ~ all in my LeSportsac Large Weekender Bag (a great pick up at TJ Maxx, but similar style here)!

Tops

  • Tees (1 white – Mossimo brand from Target – love how affordable and soft their tanks and tees are! If you want a looser fit, I would recommend going up a size)
  • Tanks (1 teal – Target)
  • Michael Kors black sleeveless blouse
  • Barney’s Co-op grey peplum top (on sale here)

Dress

  • Piamita dress (last seen here)

Blazer/Sweater

  • Black New York & Company blazer (old)
  • Ivory wool cardigan (old, Target)

Bottoms

  • Surface to Air “Jimmy’s trousers” (sample sale pick up, said sale referenced here)
  • Current Jeans (sample sale pick up, but similar style here) I have to confess, I have practically LIVED in these jeans since I bought them, and if you don’t want to pay full price, I suggest perusing the sale rack at Nordstrom Rack, signing up for Haute Look or Gilt. They constantly have premium denim on sale and you can usually find some great deals.

Shoes

  • Franco Sarto red peep-toe pumps (old, but similar style here, here, or sexy Valentino version here)
  • Surface to Air buckle red oxfords (from previously referenced sample sale, if you can’t tell it was a good one, lol)
  • Nine West yellow pumps (old, but similar NW peep-toe version here, or Manolo Blahnik version here)

PLANNED OUTFITS

Day 0 (work/travel to VA)

  • Grey pants, teal tank, ivory cardigan, yellow pumps

Day 1 (work)

  • Grey pants, black blouse, black blazer, yellow pumps

Day 2 (work/home)

  • Dress, red belt, oxfords

Day 3 (home/play)

  • Jeans, white tee, yellow pumps (will add blazer and scarf for a cool night) OR
  • Jeans, peplum top, red pumps

Day 4 (home/play)

  • Dress, red pumps

Day 5 (work/travel to NY)

  • Grey pants, white tee, black blazer, oxfords 
One thought on “packed and ready to go! ~ work/home balance

  1. Pingback: swipe it! ~ indie boutiques | passports & visa

Leave a Reply

