spring recovery, renewal, revival

spring renewal

There are moments when life just HITS you – unexpectedly. You feel blindsided, lost and not sure where to turn.You’re not even sure how you got to this point. This happened to me recently and it made me begin to question a lot of things and made me feel very uncertain about my present and my future. Without going into too much detail, I can tell you it was a ROUGH few weeks. It was hard for me to really focus on anything – work, blogging, working out – ANYTHING. As I’m writing this post, I can honestly say I feel like I’m in a much better place. I’m not completely back to my “old self” but I’m on the road the “recovery”, “renewal” and “revival”.

Call it what you want, but I’m on the road to it in an effort to achieve my happiness. I have a quote posted on my pinterest page – “Happiness is a conscious choice, not an automatic response.” because I believe it’s true. You have to make a conscious effort to be happy, especially in those times when you feel down. It’s during these times that it’s really important to have real people and relationships in your life. The older I get the more I realize I have a special knack for building genuine relationships – they’re not all created equal, but they all serve an equal purpose in my life.Without going into a long diatribe, the point is you need to talk to people. You can’t keep all of your thoughts and emotions bottled up because they will explode when you least expect it, and often at the most inopportune times. Don’t feel like you’re weak for needing to talk it out. In my opinion, that makes you a stronger person because you realize something’s not right and you want to figure out how to fix it.

So that you understand why I have the montage of photos above, the one piece of advice or question I received from every person was “are you exercising?: My answer, “yes” but I start thinking to myself I’m probably not working out as much as I could or as hard as I should be.

SO…

To get me through this time and on the road to recovery, renewal and revival, I had to do something different. I allowed myself to be convinced (leaning more towards coaxed) into renting bikes for the day and taking a ride – a 24 mile long ride! That was not the intent heading out; however, once starting down out on the trek and following the curves of the Hudson River and West Side Highway it was hard to stop. The wind is in your air, the city is buzzing, weather is beautiful and you just get this feeling that you can do anything. And I mean anything, like literally riding from the top of Manhattan to the bottom and going back up again.

IF you’re going through something right now I suggest reaching out to someone – it really does help to talk and if you own a bike, then take a ride; if you don’t own one, then rent one and then take a ride. It’s an amazing release, and not to mention a great form of exercise. I think the ride I did burned about 2,000 calories:-)!

When life has you down, what do you do to pick yourself up? Talk to someone? Take a trip? Write a poem? Read a book? I’d be interested to know and I’m sure others would be as well.

6 thoughts on “spring recovery, renewal, revival

    • Thank you for your support! Sometimes you just have to let it go and let it out and maybe it will help someone else who may be going through something similar.

Leave a Reply

