packed and ready to go! travel essentials for summer

Although Memorial Day this year is not quite the kick off to summer as I had hoped, I am so excited and ready for the not so lazy days of summer. I see lots of time spent outside, planned vacations and impromptu weekend adventures. Below are a few essentials that I either currently own or plan to buy to carry me through my summer travels. I’m all about easy pieces that you can mix or match and take from day to night.

So, tell me friends, what are your go-to’s this summer?

summer travel essentials

From top left: Everlane back pack, Conair mini waver, Chloe rollerball, Moroccan Oil, Zara sandals, Furst of a Kind overalls, Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer, Artizia athletic shorts, All Saints Silk Slit Dress, What About Yves tee, DV Dolce Vita sandals

Travel Bags: Backpack 

I just ordered this Everlane backpack. I typically carry this tote for my work travels, but for summer I want something a bit more carefree and nostalgic – what better than a grown up version of a childhood staple!  Everlane may be my new go-to for staples. They are only have an online store to keep costs low, they tell you about the factories the products are produced in, how much they cost to make and deliver a quality product at an affordable price. What more can you asked for?

Beauty Products: Moroccan Oil, Chloe Rollerball, Tinted Moisturizer, Mini Waver 

I’m no beauty expert or connoisseur, but I have found a few products I swear by. First is Moroccan oil. I learned about this from my friend. When I saw how shiny her hair looked when she wore it curly, and she said it was Moroccan oil, I knew I had to try it out. My hair is very much a mixture – not really course or thick, but it’s long and I have a lot of it. On top of things it absorbs product and water like a sponge. So, when I would wear it curly with other products, it would often feel dry and a little brittle. However, with just a dab (about a nickel size) of the Moroccan oil treatment when it’s still wet and then top it with a handful of the curl defining cream – voila nice curly hair that still feels soft and manageable.

I absolutely love Chloe. It’s light, yet crisp and absolutely perfect for summer, or all year round for that matter. This now my GO TO scent and when it’s packaged in this lovely rollerball I can throw it in any bag and take it with me anywhere I go.

I’m not a huge makeup person, I lean more towards the natural side and in the summer I’m all about getting a tan. So tinted moisturizer is the perfect balance for me. It’s provides light coverage, has SPF and still allows me to get a slight tan without burning. I love Laura Mercier’s Illuminating version because it gives you that sun-kissed glow. I wear Warm Radiance.

The Conair Mini Waver is my new favorite hair styling tool. It gives you beach waves and for me it’s a good way to help my “curly hair” last. So, if I get it wet at the beach or pool and do my “curly hair” routine the next day I can simply plug in the waver and boost some of the curls that may have lost their life overnight.

Clothing:

Overall shorts ~ I’ve been obsessed with overalls for a couple of years now, and this summer I plan to have my overall shorts in heavy rotation – pairing them with flat sandals, sneakers and heels!

Athletic shorts ~ No matter how many pairs of heels I own, I will always be a tomboy at heart so I love the idea of dressing up athletic shorts to wear for day or night. Pair these with some metallic heels, a comfy slouchy tee or a bandeau top and bomber jacket and you have instant TLC – Crazy, Sexy, Cool (for those who may not get the reference, I’m referring the 90’s girl’s group who epitomized the mix of sexy feminism and tomboy chic).

Comfy tees ~ Can’t go wrong with comfy  tees, there’s just nothing better. Whether they’re basic cotton in a variety of colors or slathered with words and graphics they are simply the best and totally versatile. I’m loving these Everlane basic v-neck tees and these and these from Aritzia.

Versatile silk dress ~ This modal silk blend dresses from All Saints is the perfect neutral color. Again it’s all about versatility ~ for day, I would pair it with these gold sandals, a simple gold chain and hoops, topped off with a pair of aviators and a silk scarf. For night, I would pump it up with a pair of strappy gold heels and a pile of bangles.

Sandals ~ I absolutely love the DV Dolce Vita Archer sandals. They’re affordable and completely stylish. I bought the gold pair last year and wore them almost every day during the summer. I’m currently eyeing/adding the striped pair above to my shopping cart – they’re on sale right now! I am also eyeing these Loeffler Randall ones. I love the mix of studs and bows.

I usually try to avoid Zara as they’re the go-to fast fashion house of the moment and this year my mantra is to shop less and invest in higher quality pieces. BUT, when something really catches you’re eye sometimes you have to make an exception :-). I was recently at a conference and I saw this super stylish European women wearing the ones above and I’ve been lusting after them ever since. I totally see myself wearing these with the aforementioned athletic shorts.

2 thoughts on “packed and ready to go! travel essentials for summer

  1. Pingback: packed and ready to go! work trip 6 pieces, 3 days | passports & visa

  2. Pingback: swipe it @ aminah jillil bow sandals | passports & visa

Leave a Reply

