swipe it! COTTON TEES FOR SUMMER PLEASE

cotton tees for summer

My Cotton Tee @ Sunday Funday Brunch

Wearing: Brandy Melville USA cotton tank, Urban Outfitters Lace Bandeau bra , Joie silk shorts (old Barney's Co-Op score, but digging this pair), Lauren Ralph Lauren Straw Fedora (old outlet score but digging this  version from San Diego Hat Company), Marc by Marc Jacobs glasses (old, do you seriously need a link to a cool pair of aviators?), Lipstick: Nars Carthage

It's been a little while since I did a "swipe it!" post so as a refresher this series is meant to bring attention to different boutiques or stores I encounter in my travels or to highlight random things that may lead you to swiping your credit card ;-).

This summer I'll be all about throwing on (or for the more sophisticated pairing) a lightweight cotton tee with whatever summer bottoms I have in my closet - silk or denim shorts, my latest obsession short overalls, linen pants, or maxi skirts. I'm going to South Florida for 4th of July, so I started my shopping Memorial Day weekend and continued into this past weekend. Naturally, I  headed to Soho to do a little perusing. As many times as I've walked down Broadway (and it's been many of times), I NEVER noticed what may become a new go-to store for me - Brandy Melville USA. I was headed to my bank and the shop window caught my eye so I ventured in and what did my eyes spy? - COTTON TEES and lots of them!

The prices are totally affordably tanks run around $15 and long-sleeve striped tees come in at less than $25. Everything is "Made in Italy" according to the tags and most of the tees are either 100% cotton or a mix of cotton and micromodal. But there is one catch and the reason why I believe they're prices are so affordable - they are NO sizes. It's all "one size fits most". With that said, I usually wear an XS or Small shirt and as you can see in the photo above the tank fit me pretty well, but there's definitely room if you wear a larger size. I would recommend taking the time to try on the shirts (they also have dresses, skirts and pants) if you're near a store as each piece may fit just a little differently. Also, they don't offer refunds - only store credit so if you're like me and there's a possibility you might return it TRY IT ON!

The store has a nice laid back, west coast type of vibe and they had R&B and hip hop music playing on the day I went in. The store associates were really helpful. My only "complaint" is the somewhat lack of organization to the store. They have a variety of basic shirts and graphic slogans that you can get in a different versions - tank, a crop top, long sleeve, crew neck, v-neck, etc. but there's no telling where you might find a particular version of the shirt in the store. Again, that's where the store associates came in handy they seemed to have an actual grasp to the "organized chaos"?

Below are a few snaps from the store window, some of the tees and accessories and what I bought: the LA bones tank, the above Amsterdam tank, a striped long-sleeved tee (I've been searching for the right one for months!) and as I was waiting in line I picked up a couple of the stackable bone rings for $3 each. They were the perfect complement to my current jewelry in rotation.

brandy melville1(this post was submitted for IFB project #98)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “swipe it! COTTON TEES FOR SUMMER PLEASE

Leave a Reply

