packed and ready to go! work trip 6 pieces, 3 days

6 pieces, 3 days

6 pieces, 3 days

Packing for a work trip usually requires a bit of forethought, but what happens when your boss says “I need you to get on a plane tomorrow to go this conference or that meeting? You won’t be gone long it’s a short trip.” For some, this could be a regular occurrence, but for most it is not. Those not adept to handling this may begin to stress out with the thought of making travel plans, arranging home duties and then figuring out what to pack! That’s why it’s essential to have key pieces in your wardrobe that are easy to mix and match and don’t require a lot of fuss. I will be going on a short  work trip next week and if you’ve been following me you know I like to pack as LIGHT as possible. For this trip, I’m sticking with primary colors – black, white and blue with a hint of gold. I love wearing gold jewelry and accents in the summer! Now all I need is a tan and it would be perfect. I digress…

I will be packing  these six pieces for three days.

(1) SHIFT DRESS IN A BOLD COLOR

calvin klein shift dress

calvin klein shift dress

A shift dress in a bold color is a great way to be polished and professional, yet a bit bold and unexpected.  I purchased the above Calvin Klein dress at TJMaxx well over a year ago, and it has traveled with me ENDLESSLY for work trips. I love the neckline and the pleating details. It also has a slightly cinched waist so it’s not so boxy and subtly highlights my shape. Having a fun print version to pack is also a way to punch up your work wardrobe, I like this Monsoon shift dress as an option.

(1) PAIR BLACK CROPPED PANTS

j crew minnie

j crew minnie

Again, I can’t say enough about the J.Crew Minnie pants. They’re versatile, seasonless and have stretch for those who have a pear shape like me. The fit perfectly without me having to take them to the tailors to get the waist taken in. I even purchased them a size smaller as they do stretch a little after a few wears. These Theory ones are also a good option.

(2) SILK BLOUSES

silk blouses with details

silk blouses with details (michael kors left, bebe right)

In this post, I highlighted the importance of having silk blouses with cool details, in your wardrobe. And, this why. When you need to pack in a hurry, or you’re going on a short trip you can grab one of these essentials and know that it can stand on its own with minimal accessories and little fuss. I was a Maxxinista before that term became “cool” and “fashionable”. I purchased the Michael Kors sleeveless top from TJ Maxx a couple of years ago and the Bebe white peasant blouse is an oldie, but goodie. It has survived NUMEROUS closet clean outs which means it’s a keeper! This French Connection Suzy Top and Bebe blouse are good options.

(2) PAIRS OF SHOES

heels & flats

heels & flats

Last, but certainly not least. We can’t forget about the shoes! As it’s summertime, it’s time to bring out the sandals. Depending on your industry, this is where you can have a little fun. Since I’m packing solid colors, I want to punch it up a little and these sandals from Zara are the perfect way to do that. And, when my feet get tired I plan to slip on the DV by Dolce Vita Archer sandals. I bought a pair last year for my cousin’s destination wedding and I think I wore them almost every day last summer. They’re super affordable (currently on sale here) and completely stylish. They look way more expensive than what they really are. I’m all about investing in quality pieces, but my summer wardrobe is where I will usually find my savings in my yearly clothing allowance. (fall clothing is my true love…lol)

What say you? What do you pack for a short or last minute work trip? Do you have go-to pieces?

2 thoughts on “packed and ready to go! work trip 6 pieces, 3 days

  1. Thanks for the tip Tiffany, as always you give us alot of good ideas and I don’t have to really think about it just pull up your blog and I can find my answers.

Leave a Reply

