what to do? smorgasburg

DSC00921A couple of weekends ago, I decided to journey to Brooklyn to check out Smorgasburg in East River Park (That’s in Williamsburg for non-Brooklynites). What is Smorgasburg, you ask? It’s basically a flea market for food. It’s kind of like a “Taste of Chicago” but in Brooklyn and it’s not just an annual week event. The Smorgasburg is open every Saturday in Williamsburg and every Sunday in DUMBO, 11am to 6pm, thru November 23+24.

DSC00907I can be picky and indecisive when it comes to food so I decided to have a plan of attack before I went to the event – Butter & Scotch, Anarchy in a Jar, Blue Bottle Coffee Company, Kelvin Natural Slush Co., Parantha Alley and Dough.

DSC00896

I started off at Dough to pick up my most important food item first, a cinnamon sugar donut! It’s probably the most expensive donut ($2.25 per) I’ve purchased outside of Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland, but it was well worth it! They fry in Bed-Stuy and I ate it in The Heights :-).

Next up was Parantha Alley for a parantha, which is a whole wheat roti filled with spicy indian fillings. I decided to go for the Aloo, which is the potato filled option because let’s face it bread and potatoes just go together. I was starting to suffer the beginnings of a summer cold so the spices in this dish really helped to kick my taste buds in gear.

To wash it down, I stopped by the Vermont Maple Lemonade stand and I have to say it was the best lemonade! It wasn’t too sour or to sweet, it was just right! (sounds a little like Goldilocks and the Three Bears, right?).

Needless to say, once I got to Smorgasburg all bets were off in terms of my pre-defined list, but I did end up sampling from two on my list so I’m okay with that. Sometimes, I forget my eyes are truly bigger than my stomach, lol. Luckily I have a few more months to sample the rest from my initial list and to check out a few more of the vendors. My tip, if you’re a foodie, and find yourself in Brooklyn this is something you should definitely visit.

Here are a few other random photos I snapped….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

