swipe it! @ dagnedover.com

On Saturday, I had the pleasure of hanging out downtown and enjoying what was likely one of the last nice days (at least weather wise) of the year in NYC. I attended an event hosted by Hitha from the blog hithaonthego.com – a must read for all you traveling women out there. The event aptly titled “Keep Calm and Carry On” was an amalgamation of some of her favorite travel friendly brands and essentials, including new handbag line Dagne Dover. (Stay tuned for future posts on other essentials)

As a practitioner of the “carry on” philosophy, I’m always interested in learning about new products and brands that combine form, function and fashion. Launched just 6 months ago, the Dagne Dover brand grew out of a simple idea – handbags should be chic, functional and designed for the modern women.

Dagne Dover Co-Owner - Melissa Shin

Dagne Dover Co-Owner – Melissa Shin

I had the pleasure of meeting Melissa Shin, co-founder of the brand. She was, of course, on hand to rep the brand, but I found her to be incredibly personable, passionate and really just a nice person, which can be hard to find these days. Melissa is a Wharton School Grad, which means she’s super smart, and she used to work at Coach, which means she knows her business. The rest of the team wasn’t on hand, but you can learn more about these awesome women (and men) on their site.

"The Tote"

Okay, so on to the products. They have two core styles “The Tote” and “Clutch + Wallet”. You can check out all of the features on their site, but I’ll tell you about the ones I really liked – the water-proof bottle/umbrella holder inside of the tote and the magnetic card holder in the Clutch + Wallet. These may sound like trivial things to most, but are truly functional for those constantly on the go. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to strategically place my water bottle inside of my bag so that it didn’t accidentally get my laptop or other electronics wet.

"Clutch + Wallet"

The totes and clutch/wallets are made out of a coated canvas that reminds me of a sturdy linen and in the upcoming fall collection they have a few leather options for those who, well, prefer leather.

While black would be the most appropriate and classic color, I of course am personally drawn to the “dagne blue” colored tote and the leather printed clutch + wallet coming out in their fall collection. I’ve been on the hunt for a black bag for awhile, but for some reason I can’t seem to commit – the energy of color always seems to win out.

Another thing to know and love, the bags are made right here in NYC! So when you make your first purchase, you can feel good about not only supporting a business owned and designed by women, for women but know that you’re also supporting local factories in the Garment District.

Isn’t that great?!

Disclaimer: I was not asked by the company to provide a review on their company or products. This review is based solely on my own research and interaction with the brand.

Leave a Reply

