restaurant review ~ dos caminos

dos caminos 3

Those who know me, or follow the blog know I love to eat. It’s one of my favorite things to do when I travel or really just in general. While I was in Soho a couple of weekends ago, I met up with a friend to grab a bite to eat. The initial plan was to head to Miss Lily’s but the liveliness of Dos Caminos broke us from our stride and lured us in.

To get things going, we started with the traditional guacamole for two. Fair warning the serving size is large with lots of chips. If you plan on ordering an entree keep this in mind as you may not be able to finish it if there are only two in your party. This appetizer could easily be shared by another person or two. It was good, but in my opinion Rosa Mexicano still has the best, sorry Dos Caminos.

guacamole for two

guacamole for two

Try as we might, we weren’t necessarily planning on drinking, but when in Rome, you know the rest – so we decided on passion fruit margaritas on the rocks – YUM! I highly recommend. Sometimes the flavored margaritas can get a little sweet, but not this one, which is why I ordered another.

passion fruit margarita!

passion fruit margarita!

For my entree, I ordered the oaxacan-style shrimp quesadilla, which is an open-faced crispy flour tortilla topped with chile-marinated shrimp, mexican cheeses, smoked wild mushrooms, and oven-dried tomatoes. It was good with the right amount of crisp to toppings ratio. I loaded up a little too much on chips and guacamole so I ended up bringing most of it home with me. Side note – it re-heated well in my toaster oven the next day. My friend ordered the roasted chicken enchiladas, which was also quite yummy. You know, I had to take a bite for reporting purposes, lol.

The service was a little slow but that was okay on this occassion as it gave us time to enjoy and digest all of the food we ate. We were simply too stuffed to try a dessert but I’ll be sure to make room next time.

Although I saw couples dining, I wouldn’t recommend this as a “date night” or “romantic” place. It’s definitely good for a celebration or to meet up with friends to have a good time. And if the weather’s nice, you can enjoy the outside patio and do some good people watching.

All in all, Dos Caminos was a good dining choice but next time I might save my $$ on the entree and order more margaritas :-).

Leave a Reply

