packed and ready! home for the holidays

plaid, burgundy, sequins, black + gold

plaid, burgundy, sequins, black + gold

If you’re like me, then you’re traveling home for the holiday season. Going home automatically rings “comfort” in my head, and I’m certainly packing my fair share of comfortable clothes, but I didn’t want to completely sacrifice style in pursuit of comfort. I’m a pretty expert packer, but I won’t boast that I pack in five minutes because that’s certainly not the case. I very much get dressed based on my mood, which can be hard to predict a week in advance. However, I have a few hard and fast rules I follow to help me edit in pursuit of NOT over packing. What are those rules you ask?

  1. Stick to a color theme (mine, plaid, burgundy, black + gold)
  2. Pack 3 pairs of shoes (or less if you can)
  3. Pack no more than 3 pairs of pants for a week-long trip. With shirts that can easily be mixed or match, or belted for a entirely new look, folks won’t even notice if you happen to wear a pair of pants (or shirt for that matter) more than once!

Overall, I think the wardrobe I’ve put together says festive, comfortable, and chic. What say you? How do you pack when heading home for the holidays?

Let’s take a look at what’s in my bag for this trip:

Tops: Mailbu Shirts tee // J. Crew plaid button up // Equipment chrysanthemum silk blouse // DVF sequined tank // Equipment coin blouse // Tahari sweater dress // Vintage shirt dress from Lavai Maria

Pants: Bebe coated jeans // DVF leather patch leggings // Paige Denim jeans

Shoes: MBMJ gold platform pumps and booties // Yosi Samra flats

Accessories: Gap gold belt (old) // black coin belt (Hawaii flea market find) // Bebe tan/gold belt

Leave a comment