travel tip: take the train

amtrak - go by train

I read an article and it got me thinking. What’s more classical of a trip than taking a train ride? Not much, unless an airline builds a replica TWA or PanAm plane so those of us who hold the nostalgia of a time far before our time, can relieve that time even if it’s just for one flight.

While Amtrak may have it’s challenges (non-reserved seats, spotty wi-fi, can be a tad expensive) there’s a certain charm traveling by train still holds. I travel between NY and DC frequently and have to say the train is my first choice because for every challenge it has, there is a perk ~ big comfy seats, views of cities and towns whizzing by, and more baggage…less hassle. I mean I can show up 20 minutes before, I don’t have to take off my shoes, pull out my laptop, or deal with possibility of being one of TSA’s “picks of the day”.

Instead of taking that bucket-list, cross-country road trip, how about a cross-country train ride (conjuring up images of Carrie and Samantha from Sex and the City) instead? It might not be the most glamorous, but would definitely be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. And, for you writers out there Amtrak is trying to up it’s ante and I presume social-media status – they’re offering free rides for writers. Don’t believe me? Read this.

So, what say you? Would you consider taking the train for your next trip?

IMAGE

Leave a Reply

