swipe it: summer jewelry cravings + 5 traveling with jewelry tips

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With the warm weather becoming a steady thing, my shopping urge has kicked into high gear {I might just have a problem}. Generally summer clothes don’t excite me, but I feel a bit more inspired this year.  It’s probably due to the months of polar vortexes that have me singing this different tune.

Anyhow, on to the heart of this post. Jewelry. I love to see people who can masterfully mix piles of jewelry that doesn’t seem to overwhelm but instead looks effortless and oh so bad ass chic. Sadly, try as I might, I’m just not one of those people. I really stick to the K.I.S.S. methodology when it comes to my jewelry ~ think studs, a watch, a bracelet or two {3 max} and maybe a necklace if I’m feeling bold. But usually, my neck is adorned with a scarf, a Theodora & Callum scarf.

For summer, I lean more towards delicate gold jewelry. There’s something about glowing, sun-kissed skin that turns the subtle, delicateness of the jewelry into something bold, chic + sexy. But, I also like unique pieces, which you’ll notice in the slideshow above.

LUMO // JENNIFER FISHER // ANARCHY STREET // NIXON WATCHES
PASSPORT PENDANT // CREDIT CARD PENDANT // VINTAGE MAP EARRINGS

With summer comes vacations and with vacations, come packing ~ here are 5 tips to help you pack + protect your jewelry while traveling this summer:

1. Sun + jewelry don’t mix.
I know you want to look glamorous while hitting the beach or sitting pool side; however, it’s not in your jewels best interest to be slathered with sunscreen or tanning oil. They will lose their luster. With lotion + sweat + sun, your jewelry will need more tender, love and care during the summer so be sure to clean it regularly.

2. Keep it simple. 
Theft or lost are real possibilities when traveling, so I recommend not packing anything you’d be too upset with losing. Or, stick to pieces you’d wear with every outfit. I typically take 1 statement necklace, 1 simple necklace, a pair of stud earrings {that I wear every day}, 2-3 bracelets max, 1 watch and a ring or two.

3. Organization is key.
To avoid that tangle web necklaces can weave, I suggest investing in some sort of case. I use my grandmother’s vintage jewelry roll {similar one here, but I also like this baggalini and this henri bendel}.

4. Keep it safe. 
When deciding on a hotel, choose one that has an in-room safe. I always place jewelry I’m not wearing in the safe. This is wear a jewelry roll + minimal jewelry comes in handy. You won’t have a strewn mess all over your bathroom sink. Things will be orderly and you can easily put the jewelry or your selected case in the safe before heading out. Never leave fine jewelry unattended in a hotel room, rental car or a lounge chair. There are some quick + sticky fingers out there. As noted in tip #1, I wouldn’t recommend bringing your best jewelry but if you insist, be sure it’s covered by appropriate insurance. Most homeowners’ policies will NOT cover jewelry if it’s lost or stolen while traveling, so you may need to purchase a separate policy.

5. Pack it in your carry-on. 
I only carry on so this is an easy one for me. But, for those of you who check your bags I’d recommend packing your jewelry case + any purchased jewelry in your carry on. The perils of lost luggage are very real and very stressful.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “swipe it: summer jewelry cravings + 5 traveling with jewelry tips

Leave a Reply

