packed + ready: what to pack for camelback (inn)

 

Like my nursery rhyming skills in the title, don’t ‘cha? If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve probably seen a few photos from the beautiful, yet hot state of Arizona. With temperatures averaging around 109 degrees, what to pack is even more essential than in “typical” hot climates. First off, it is like you’ve probably heard – dry heat so it’s not the muggy, can’t breathe type of humid heat we get on the east coast, nonetheless it’s still hot. And, you need to pack accordingly.

That means light clothing and I’m not talking just in terms of color, I’m talking more about the fabrics. For this southwestern heat, I recommend linen and cotton. They’re light, natural fibers and allow your skin to breathe and provide protection from the sun if you want to wear pants or a longer-sleeved shirt. I wouldn’t recommend silk unless you’re going from air-conditioned place to air-conditioned place.

Above is a Polyvore board {click on the hyperlinked text for more info} I put together for ideas and  a snapshot of the clothes I brought with me. Full disclosure, while I packed everything into a carry-on beach bag I still over packed!! My goal and primary function for this trip to the J.W. Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn and Spa was to relax and to spend as much time at the spa as possible. And, that doesn’t require much clothing. Literally!

For a 3-day spa trip (in the desert), I recommend the following packing list:

  • 1 pair of denim shorts {you can repeat}
  • 1 black or white tank
  • 1 black or white tee
  • 1 cotton long-sleeved or three-quarter sleeve loose-fit blouse
  • 2 bathing suits
  • 1 cover-up
  • 1 maxi dress
  • 1 lightweight sweater {cotton or linen}
  • 1 straw hat
  • 1 scarf
  • 2-3 pairs of shoes {I packed 2 pairs of Havianas, but a pair of flat sandals, flip-flops and heels would be more than enough}
  • Minimal jewelry – pair of studs + a watch or bracelet (that’s it) I never wore the necklace or rings I brought with me.

Due to my overly relaxed nature, I’ve been taking my time writing about my experience but be sure to check back as I have a few more stories to tell.

Hope everyone in the U.S. enjoyed the long 4th of July weekend!

Leave a Reply

