travel anywhere :: monterey, ca is a beautiful place to visit

anywhere guide - monterey, ca

fisherman’s wharf, monterey | photo taken by passports & visa

I find myself in Cali quite frequently, but never had the pleasure of visiting the beautiful coastal town of Monterey – until this month. It’s a sleepy little town full of history and at the same time feels trapped in the past. If you find yourself in the S.F. area and can make the 1.5 hour trip south, then I highly suggest visiting Monterey. Be a tourist and walk around Fisherman’s Wharf, have dinner at Fish Hopper in Cannery Row and take a $12 Uber ride or $2.50 bus ride (#24) to Carmel by the Sea – by far the best part of my trip! When in Carmel, start by taking in the natural and spiritual beauty of historic Carmel Mission, then take a short walk (more like hike) from the mission to the heart of town. Stop in one of the many boutiques, walk down Ocean Drive to the beach – stay here and just take it all in. Hike back up Ocean Drive (it’s an uphill battle), stop in Cottage of Sweets to pick up pounds of licorice or rose turkish delights and finish or start your afternoon with lunch at Dametra Cafe. Next time, I plan to dine at Flying Fish Grill for dinner.

cannery row | photo taken by passports & visa

 

fisherman's wharf - monterey

fisherman’s wharf signs – monterey | photo taken by passports & visa

fisherman's wharf - monterey

old fisherman’s grotto – monterey | photo taken by passports & visa

carmel mission - carmel by the sea, ca

carmel mission | photo taken by passports & visa

i was at the beach! - carmel by the sea | photo taken by passports & visa

i was at the beach! – carmel by the sea | photo taken by passports & visa

dametra's cafe, best meal of my trip| photo taken by passports & visa

dametra cafe, best meal of my trip – carmel by the sea| photo taken by passports & visa

cottage of sweets - carmel | photo taken by passports & visa

cottage of sweets – carmel by the sea| photo taken by passports & visa

If you don’t want to follow my “guide”, or a typical travel guide, then I’d suggest grabbing an Anywhere Travel Guide. I received one from Uncommon Goods, which also sent me this cool map. Uncommon Goods is an online retailer that endeavors to feature unique designs and handcrafted gifts created in harmony with the environment and without harm to animals or people.

anywhere guide - monterey, ca

anywhere guide – monterey: the weather was warm, slightly windy and yes I loved the weather!| photo taken by passports & visa

The Anywhere Travel Guide is a game designed to take you down the “offbeat path”. There are 75 cards with unique and interactive prompts and the only rules are to pick a card, follow the instructions and see what happens.

What happened to me? I stopped, closed my eyes and felt the weather; shared a meal with someone I wanted to get to know; looked behind, above and underneath to take in my surroundings and stopped in the first store I saw. In my opinion, this is a great gift for the traveler who has everything.

happy travels, tiffany

FYI, this is not a sponsored post. 

Leave a Reply

